Avoid Significant Penalties of a 2nd DUI in Colorado with the Help of an Experienced Attorney
If you’re charged with a 2nd DUI in Colorado, you need a trial-tested attorney at your side immediately. The truth is, the stakes are much higher if you already have a prior DUI or DWAI conviction … and trust us, you don’t want to be convicted as a repeat offender. Don’t settle for just any attorney to represent you –– hire the best in the game.
Mark Thiessen, DUI Attorney in Aspen and founder of Thiessen Law Firm has the extensive knowledge on Colorado DUI laws needed to aggressively fight for you and your case. Mark is Board Certified in both DUI Defense by the National College for DUI Defense (as approved through the American Bar Association) and DUI Law by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association. Whether you’re facing a 2nd DUI charge or a felony DUI in Colorado, Mark Thiessen is an aggressive attorney who will fight for you.
You only have seven days to save your driver’s license. The right DUI Defense or DWAI lawyer can file for a DMV hearing and help you save your driving privileges.
What are the penalties for a second DUI in Colorado?
Similar to a DUI Colorado first offense and even a third DUI in Colorado, a 2nd DUI in Colorado is a misdemeanor unless serious injury was involved. However, Colorado DUI laws state that regardless of whether or not your prior DUI conviction was in another state, you will serve mandatory jail time for a 2nd DUI charge.
Because penalties increase with each DUI infraction, you are more likely to receive the full penalty of conviction than you were during your first offense.
Penalties for a 2nd DUI in Colorado include:
|Jail*||10 days county jail||1 year county jail|
|Suspended Jail||1 year||1 year|
|Community Service||48 hours||120 hours|
|Probation||2 years||4 years|
*If you have a prior DUI conviction that is less than five years from the date of the 2nd DUI charge or the result of a breath test or blood test shows that you had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.20 or greater, you must serve the mandatory ten days in a county jail.
In addition to the penalties above, your driver’s license will be revoked for at least 1 year depending on the circumstances of your case. You may also be required to take a minimum 12-hour alcohol education course.
You can have your license reinstated early if you complete the reinstatement requirements. These requirements include:
- Apply for reinstatement
- Pay a $95 fee for reinstatement
- Provide an SR-22 from your car insurance company
- Enroll/complete a Level 2 Alcohol or Drug Course and Treatment
- Have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in every vehicle you own and drive for at least two (2) years*
*Individuals who are charged with a 2nd DUI may have to install the Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicles. This device requires the driver to breathe into the device to test for any alcohol on the breath. If the device detects alcohol, the car won’t start.
How can a DUI defense attorney help me fight a 2nd DUI in Colorado?
If you are convicted of a 2nd DUI offense, you will be labeled a “persistent drunk driver.” This, along with the penalties listed above, can heavily affect your driving privileges. The sooner you hire an experienced DUI defense attorney, the better your chances are of saving your driver’s license. Mark Thiessen from Thiessen Law Firm has successfully handled many cases like yours and is ready to help you.
SAVE YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES
As mentioned above, you only have seven (7) days to file for a hearing or your license will be automatically suspended –– which means you need to act fast. If you’re charged with a second DUI offense, contact Mark immediately. He will help ensure that you meet the deadline for your DMV hearing in a timely manner and fight against a potential license suspension.
2nd DUI IN COLORADO DEFENSE
A DUI defense attorney can help you navigate evidence gathering and the negotiations process. If an acceptable deal can’t be reached, your case may go to trial. Depending on the available evidence gathered in your case, your attorney can help you pinpoint issues with your arrest, including:
- Police lacked probable cause when pulling you over
- Improperly administered field sobriety tests
- Faulty equipment was used to conduct a chemical test (breath, blood, or urine test)
- Evidence was mishandled or incorrectly gathered
- Defendant has a medical condition that caused an inaccurate blood alcohol content (BAC) level
Some attorneys are afraid of trial –– not Mark Thiessen. Mark is a trial-tested lawyer who does not back down from fighting for your rights in and out of the courtroom. With Mark Thiessen in your corner, you can feel secure that you’re receiving nothing short of the best possible defense for your second DUI in Colorado.
Contact Thiessen Law Firm for Quality DUI Defense in Colorado
With a 2nd DUI in Colorado, the stakes are higher. Being convicted means that you’re facing more severe penalties than a first-time offense. Don’t let just any attorney take on your case. A trial-tested attorney like Mark Thiessen is well-versed in Colorado DUI laws, meaning he has the knowledge and expertise necessary to provide the highest quality legal representation for DUI charges in Aspen.
Remember, you only have seven days to save your driver’s license. It’s time to act fast and contact an attorney that you can trust. Mark and his team of trustworthy attorneys are here to help you battle a 2nd DUI in Colorado.
Whether we take your case to court or negotiate a favorable resolution, we’ll fight to protect your rights. Call Mark Thiessen at 970-233-9000 or contact us online today for a FREE case evaluation.