Vehicular homicide Colorado cases are among the most aggressively prosecuted cases in the state. As a driver in the state of Colorado, you have a duty to other drivers, pedestrians, and passengers to keep them safe to the best of your ability. If you decide to drive recklessly or drive while drunk and someone dies as a result of your negligence, you can suffer serious consequences.
How do vehicular homicide charges differ from vehicular assault?
Vehicular homicide cases in Colorado are far more serious than a vehicular assault DUI Colorado charge. Vehicular assault charges involve serious bodily injury to the victim, whereas Colorado law (CRS 18-3-106) describes vehicular homicide as driving a motor vehicle in a reckless manner or under the influence of alcohol or drugs that results in an accident that kills another person.
Similar to vehicular assault, a vehicular homicide charge is a felony that can be added onto a DUI/DWAI charge. With a Felony DUI in Colorado, you need to have three prior DUI convictions before it is considered a felony –– this is not the case for vehicular homicide in Colorado. Regardless if this is your DUI Colorado first offense or first time getting into an accident, if you kill someone as a result of reckless or drunk driving, you will face harsh penalties if convicted of this felony.
Vehicular homicide Colorado penalties
Vehicular homicide charges, whether due to recklessness or a DUI/DWAI, are felonies, even if you are a first-time offender. The penalties of a felony conviction can be life-altering. For example, vehicular homicide jail time is mandatory if convicted, and the prosecution will typically work to ensure that you serve a long sentence. Not only will this take years from your life, your daily life may never be the same after you serve your sentence. Because of this, having a trusted DUI or DWAI lawyer can be extremely beneficial as you work to fight these harsh penalties.
Recklessness – Class 4 felony
|Jail*||2 year||6 years|
*This jail sentence comes with a mandatory 3-year parole period.
DUI or DWAI – Class 3 felony
|Jail*||4 years||12 years|
*This jail sentence comes with a mandatory 5-year parole period.
What a vehicular homicide Colorado attorney can do for you
Vehicular homicide cases in Colorado are taken very seriously. Whether it was another driver, a pedestrian, or a passenger in your own vehicle, there are many emotions involved in cases where loved ones are lost. Vehicular homicide is considered a “victim’s rights crime” under Colorado law, which means that the alleged victim’s family can give their input into any and all settlement negotiations, plea bargains, and sentencing options. This can make things challenging for the defendant who is going up against potentially angry and upset family members.
However, most car accidents are just that –– accidents. The right attorney can help you fight these harsh penalties. That attorney is Mark Thiessen from Thiessen Law Firm. Here are some of the reasons Mark may be able to help you beat your charges:
- The accident was not your (the defendant’s) fault
- You were not actually driving recklessly
- You were not driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- The DUI blood or breath test was not administered properly by the police
- The equipment used in said DUI test was faulty or outdated
- Note: blood tests are notoriously inaccurate for detecting substances
- The victim was not seriously injured
- The officer did not properly administer your rights
- Eyewitness testimonies (if any) were not reliable sources of information
If you find yourself facing a vehicular homicide charge, contact an attorney that you can trust immediately. By gathering sufficient evidence and negotiating on your behalf, an experienced and trusted attorney like Mark Thiessen can create a winning defense strategy to secure your freedom.
Mark Thiessen Can Fight Your Vehicular Homicide Colorado Charge
For a serious charge such as a vehicular homicide in Colorado, you’ll need a serious attorney. Mark Thiessen of Thiessen Law Firm is the top DUI attorney in Aspen who is trial-tested and can deliver aggressive defense? How? Let us show you.
Mark is Board Certified in both DUI Defense by the National College for DUI Defense (as approved through the American Bar Association) and DUI Law by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association. In addition, Mark has also earned the American Chemical Society-Chemistry and the Law’s (ACS-CHAL) Forensic Lawyer-Scientist designation — the highest form of scientific recognition available for lawyers.
These credentials allow him to one-up his competitors in negotiations and in the courtroom. He understands how severe these vehicular homicide charge penalties are and he is here to secure you a “Not Guilty” verdict.
Call Mark Thiessen at 970-233-9000 or contact us online today for a FREE case evaluation.