A third DUI in Colorado comes with serious consequences including mandatory jail time, hefty fines, longer license suspension, and reputational damages. You need a serious DUI attorney in Aspen to help combat these charges to save your driving privileges.
Luckily, a third DUI in Colorado is not considered a felony UNLESS vehicular homicide or assault is involved. As long as no one is injured at the time of your arrest, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
How many DUIs are a felony in Colorado? Four total. Having three DUI prior convictions will result in you being charged with a felony DUI in Colorado. Meaning, if you are convicted of this 3rd DUI Colorado, you’re one step closer to becoming a felon. That’s why you need a trusted attorney like Mark Thiessen to help with your DUI defense.
What happens when you get 3 DUIs in Colorado?
After a 3rd DUI in Colorado, you will be classified as a “persistent drunk driver,” regardless of how long ago you were charged or where your DUI prior convictions occurred. With this classification, you will have to complete additional requirements to complete before you can have your license reinstated:
- Have a mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle for at least two years
- Attend mandatory alcohol education courses
- Have your insurance company submit proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) for 3 years
Penalties for a third DUI in Colorado
As you may have already guessed, the penalties for a third DUI in Colorado are MUCH harsher than a DUI Colorado first offense or a 2nd DUI in Colorado, even though the charge is still a misdemeanor. The penalties for a 3rd DUI Colorado include:
|Jail||60 days county jail||1 year county jail|
|Suspended Jail||1 year||1 year|
|Community Service||48 hours||120 hours|
|Probation||2 years||4 years|
|Driver’s License Revocation||No revocation||2 years – longer (depending on driving history)|
With a third conviction, you’ll be facing a minimum of 60 days of Colorado DUI mandatory jail time. In addition to the penalties above, you will also have to complete mandatory alcohol or drug education classes and could be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car for a minimum of two years.
These serious penalties can have life-altering consequences on your daily life. You only have seven days to request a DMV hearing to save your license and driving privileges. If you haven’t fought any of your prior convictions, now would be the time to contact an attorney to help you fight this third DUI Colorado charge. Your freedom and reputation depend on which attorney you hire to represent you.
Can you beat a third DUI?
With the right DUI or DWAI lawyer, yes. You need an attorney who does not back down from a fight. You need Mark Thiessen from Thiessen Law Firm.
Mark is Board Certified in both DUI Defense by the National College for DUI Defense (as approved through the American Bar Association) and DUI Law by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association. In addition, Mark has also earned the American Chemical Society-Chemistry and the Law’s (ACS-CHAL) Forensic Lawyer-Scientist designation — the highest form of scientific recognition available for lawyers.
What does this mean? It means that Mark’s knowledge and expertise give him an advantage in the courtroom. As an attorney who is obsessed with winning, Mark Thiessen is an aggressive trial defense lawyer. He will do whatever is in your best interest, whether that is negotiating a favorable outcome or defending you in court.
THIRD DUI IN COLORADO DEFENSES
Mark Thiessen has successfully won hundreds of “Not Guilty” verdicts for his clients. If you put your trust and your case into Mark’s hands, he will defend you with everything he’s got. Depending on the circumstances of your case, there are several defense strategies Mark Thiessen might use to help you:
- Proving that the police lacked probable cause when pulling you over
- Debunking improperly administered field sobriety tests
- Establishing that faulty equipment was used to conduct a chemical test (breath, blood, or urine test)
- Proving that evidence was mishandled or incorrectly gathered
- Proving that defendant has a medical condition that caused an inaccurate blood alcohol content (BAC) level
Being convicted of a third DUI is no laughing matter. The right attorney will make sure that you are left with the most favorable outcome for your case. That right attorney is Mark Thiessen.
Charged with a third DUI in Colorado? Contact Mark Thiessen ASAP for quality representation.
After being charged with a third DUI in Colorado, you only have seven days to protect your license and driving privileges. Don’t wait to contact an attorney before it’s too late. You don’t want to be labeled a “persistent drunk driver” and risk your freedom.
Mark Thiessen can help you request your DMV hearing and begin examining your case. The consequences of a third DUI Colorado charge can be brutal, but it’s nothing Mark Thiessen can’t handle.
Call Mark Thiessen at 970-233-9000 or contact us online today for a FREE case evaluation.